A permit is valid for one year from the issue date. If you are approaching expiration, you may renew for an additional year. If you renew BEFORE the permit has expired, you do not need to re-take the written test, however if you let your permit expire, you will be required to take the written test to obtain the permit again.
Graduated or operator permit: you must be accompanied by a Class A, B, C or D licensed driver at least 21 years of age, who occupies the seat beside you. These permits are valid for 12 months. For the first 6 months, a driver with a graduated driver license shall not drive a motor vehicle between the hours of midnight and 5:00 a.m. unless:
A parent or legal guardian with a valid Class A, B, C or D license occupies the front passenger seat or:
Driving directly to or from a sanctioned school-sponsored activity, place of employment, a sanctioned religious activity or a family emergency. For the first 6 months, a driver with a graduated driver license shall not drive a motor vehicle containing more than one passenger under the age of 18, unless:
The passengers are the teen driver’s siblings or
The teen driver is accompanied by a parent or legal guardian with a valid Class A, B, C or D driver license who occupies the front passenger seat.
* Refer to Page 11 in the Arizona Driver Manual for more information.
All students are required by state and federal law to provide a social security number to verify identity. Also when applying for a permit / license, students are required to provide the following: Two types of documents: one must have a clear photo OR Three types of documents without a photoOne document must be a primary source I.e.: AZ permit, birth certificate, US passport, AZ ID card, US Military ID card. One document can be a secondary document source I.E.: Social security card, W-2 form, bank card, school ID with photo, employee ID with photo, credit card. All documents must be originals OR certified copies.
Students must pass a written multiple choice exam passing with at least an 80% to be eligible for a permit. The student can take the permit test at the MVD or authorized Third Party MVD testing facilities.
All students completing a driving program through ABC Driving School of AZ will be issued a completion certificate to present to your insurance company. This certificate will satisfy most insurance carriers, however we highly recommend that you check with your insurance agent to determine whether your policy has specific requirements to be eligible for a discount.
Although you do not need a permit to schedule your driving class, you will need to have your permit before the driving class date. Our 4-hour pre permit classes on Sunday are designed to prepare you to pass the written test.
ABC Driving School is an Authorized Third Party Provider for the Arizona Department of Motor Vehicle Division.